Lovin and Living

This is a place for me to just be me… (All content Copyrighted Yeve Eeffoc 2008-2015)

Middle Monkey Has His Mom’s Skills!


A dumbbell was left in front of his door. I am not sure why but it was left there. And he didn’t pay attention and walked right into it I guess.

We went to the med center and their x-ray machine available. Suggest I head over to one of their other ones. Mind you the med centers around here now close at 8 PM instead of 10 PM and it was already 7 PM. So on a normal  day it would not have been a big deal but it wasn’t a normal day. It was snowing, heavy wet snow onto icy roads. The roads were treacherous but still being a good mom I was going to attempt to get him to the next one. It took us over 30 minutes to get about a mile in a half. It was after passing someone who had spun out and was sideways on a hill and a head on collision that I said sorry buddy this is going to have to wait until tomorrow morning.

Ended up heading to the med center after speaking to the Dr. office. In many ways I think we were luckier to have gone to the med center. Not that I don’t like our Dr. office but sometimes I think when they know the patient they push things off. Well that is how I feel at times (with the other Dr.’s not our personal one).

They got him right in. The Dr. he saw was nice and concerned. He got in for x-rays and confirmed that thankfully he didn’t break the two toes that were bruised and sore, only one. So right at the base his pinky toe is broken. And then we had to wait for the radiologist to read the films because the Dr. felt like there might have been another break involving the growth plate.

And we waited with his foot in a soaking bath because having broke his foot by the toe wasn’t enough for him. He had to cut open the toe next to the broken pinky so that it would be considered an open fracture. A fracture wasn’t good enough for my Middle Monkey he had to also be put on antibiotics!

And the Dr. comes back into the room to tell us, it is only one break but it is a break into the growth plate so because of that we can’t treat it the way it would normally be treated. It is no longer lined up correctly so we are going to put a temp splint on it until you can see the pediatric ortho. Which you need to see in the next 3 days. No weight-bearing on it until then. And of course there were some other instructions but basically stay off the foot and see the ortho before the week is out.

Yup my Middle Monkey has my skills!

No comments yet»

Leave a comment